Kitchen Table

The picture book Gussie asked Josh to read him remains on the table across from the chairs where they sat together last night. A small silver spoon from Gussie’s apple sauce glints under the light. The drawing game we gave Gussie for Christmas and played together Sunday afternoon relaxes with its lid off. A handful of playful drawings we created spill out onto the table. A single blue post-it note clings to the corner, scrawled on with one of Josh’s to-do lists. A tower of paperback books, including a storytelling book and a poetry guide dwell next to the spot where I work every morning and sometimes try to write.

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Table”

  1. This is such an interesting piece. I love the idea of looking at something concrete to tell a story…I definitely will be borrowing this structure! Thank you for sharing this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed reading and seeing your kitchen table in my mind. I’m such a visual person and love taking photos, but the simplicity of this post was just like seeing a photo of your table. I love how it displays a variety of belongings and the significance of gathering around the table as a family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great idea for a post. I appreciate the idea of analyzing a small slice of our physical environment. I was also happy to read that my kitchen table is not the only one covered with a random assortment of materials.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment