Jazz

I’m by no means am an authority on jazz, but I love it. I like to think that jazz and I have a romance of sorts. We don’t know each other that well, but what we do know of each other we like.

The jazz music at the cafe a few blocks from our apartment has me relaxed, smiling and typing my first words on an early Sunday morning. The whimsical tune of the trumpet triggers a vivid and heavenly memory. It’s an invitation to our romantic past.

It’s twenty years earlier, summer, and I’m driving in a car with my college friends. In the backseat, cassette tapes spill out of his tattered, well-loved backpack. Conor shuffles carefully through them one by one. He holds up a cassette. He’s excited. “You guys know Billie Holiday?”

I don’t. We don’t. A talented musician himself, Conor is our trusted connoisseur.

“Please, introduce us.” I say.

Conor passes the cassette up front. Sara slides it into the tape deck. A quiet pause, and I’m hearing her voice for the first time.

Its husky and melancholic quality resonates and instantly seduces me. A sudden giddy feeling rises from within me, and I’m giggling delightfully. Conor turns to look at me. I hold his questioning and amused gaze. His blue eyes are otherworldy.

“I think I’m falling in love,” I say.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Jazz”

  1. Oh Deborah- love this post. First of all, I love that you are writing at a jazz club on a Sunday morning. Perks of living in a hip urban spot! Second of all, I love that you are writing about Conor. What a wonderful memory. Your use of sparse dialogue really centers the scene around the music and the unspoken feelings in the air.

    Like

Leave a Reply

