Catching a Moment

I’m a teacher in isolation with my spouse and 5-year-old son. I’ve been writing a haiku for every day we’re in isolation. I try to pick a poignant moment from the day and capture it in a few words. Here are four poems. Thanks for reading, and I hope you’re doing well.

#19

Lost track of days we’ve
skipped stones from the water’s
edge into the deep.

#26

A bitter feat tying
your small mask, my burden
buried in my smile.

#27

Your heavy words take
root between us, “If our marriage
doesn’t unravel

#29

What’s the world without
a stranger’s smile, a passing
fist pump just because


3 thoughts on “Catching a Moment”

  1. Haiku #19 brings images of skipping rocks with my children when they were young. I know try to image “the deep” to today’s new normal.
    In Haiku #29, your phrase,
    “What’s the world without
    a stranger’s smile”
    is so true. I feel less human locked away from my fellow travellers.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, you have captured moments. Breathtaking moments of joy, exhaustion, worry, monotony, Such powerful lines these: “My burden buried in my smile” “Heavy words take root between us”
    Thanks for sharing on this Tuesday. This is a great pandemic project.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great way to mark this time. I wish I had thought of it, but maybe will pick this practice up now. These small nuggets say so much. I especially like #26. Thank you and stay well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment